Flood Damage in the Nambucca Valley - 22 March 2021 issued at 1 pm

Flood Damage in the Nambucca Valley - issued at 1.00pm on 22 March 2021.

Eligible flood affected residents may apply for Australian Government assistance.

The fastest and easiest way to claim disaster assistance is over the phone by calling 180 22 66. For more information on support available visit: www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/disaster.

Mayor, Rhonda Hoban OAM, requests all residents to not drive or walk through flood water, and where possible, defer any non-essential travel as slips and tree falls may continue to occur in the saturated catchment.

Council’s Assistant General Manager – Engineering Services, Mr Paul Gallagher advised that many roads and bridges are unable to be assessed or remain impassable with substantial damage. Gravel and bitumen has been stripped from roads, trees have fallen, travel surfaces have collapsed, landslips, large and small have occurred on many roads and a number of culverts have collapsed. Mr Gallagher said that with the restricted access to many areas restoration will take time.

The Evacuation Centre located at the Macksville High School Auditorium is OPENED UNTIL 4.00PM.

Mr Gallagher said that Council staff are prioritising emergency works over everyday activities and the public are asked to be patient.

Paul Gallagher

DATE: 22 March 2021


Media Release No. 9 - Flood Recovery Information issued at 12.30pm Wednesday 24 March

Flood Damage in the Nambucca Valley - 21 March 2021 issued at 6 pm

Flood Damage in the Nambucca Valley - issued at 12.00 noon on 21 March 2021

Current Weather Event - Media Release No. 3

Media Release No. 3 - Current Weather Event

Current Weather Event - DEFER ALL NON-ESSENTIAL TRAVEL - 19 March 2021

Media Release - Get Ready Nambucca Valley

MEDIA RELEASE - Council-led Grants Program

Councillor John Wilson Re-Elected Deputy Mayor for Third Term

Nambucca Valley Council, at its Ordinary Meeting held 24 September 2020, held its annual election for the important role of Deputy Mayor. The incumbent, Councillor John Wilson, was re-elected unopposed for a third consecutive term as Deputy Mayor.